You're building an ODRI robot? Tell us about it!

Hi,

We are often asked how many builds this project motivated. We ourselves are quite curious.

If you assembled/bought an ODRI robot or just used part of the actuator design / electronic, we would love to hear about it!

Here are some ideas of what would be interesting to know:

• Who are you? Do you work for a lab / company?
  • What did you build? Did you buy an assembled robot, a robot kit, or source the parts yourself?
  • You can upload pictures here and links to projects or scientific publication.
  • Of course, your experience and feedback would be very much appreciated.

At some point, we might add a section to the GitHub with content from this thread, if that’s OK with you.

4 Likes

Here’s my work so far on building a Bolt biped!

Who the heck am I?
I’m an undergraduate student who wanted to work with bipedal research and just learn as much as I can. In the past I’ve had experience with SLIP models and the Cassie robot from past research assistant experiences. I’m especially grateful for the amazing documentation from ODRI (really helps me not over-spend on my budget by avoiding mistakes). I’m also an one man & self-funded team so I’m doubly grateful for the responses and activity on this discourse!

Bolt Robot
For sourcing the parts I relied on the GitHub list for starters and then put together my own huge Notion spreadsheet for the exact vendors available to me. My Notion page is also were I keep notes on the project, like small modifications I made to the robot’s design, etc. I took advantage of some previous projects to reduce reuse and recycle as much as I can too to cut down costs (like the crappy stand I built).

Current Progress
Right now I’m still working on testing all the motor modules now that I’ve fully assembled the robot. I tested each individually but now I want to make sure they still function with the fully assembly.