Rough cost to build the Solo-12 Robot

Hi All,

I am new here but am greatly interested in trying to build affordable consumer robots.

With this in mind and knowing that I am just getting started, I have found that the Boston Dynamics “Spot” is WAY too expensive at $75K each, and the MIT Cheetah is also still at over $10K due to the EX-80 motors that are over $300 each and for 12-DOF that is a HUGE problem for me.

So, maybe it might be reasonable from a price standpoint as well as a learning standpoint to look into building the Solo-12 with the great help of the ODRI community.

With this in mind, I wanted to get an idea as to the total build price of the Solo-12 robot and where I can get more information on it as well?

Any guidance or help would be greatly appreciated.
Best Regards and have a great weekend,
Lonnie

Hi Lonnie,

the price of the robot is difficult to estimate since it will depend on the suppliers and machine shops that you use, the country you are in and the part quantities that you are ordering.

We have estimated the cost for our Solo12 robot at around 6300€ + tax.
That is not including the imu which is the most expensive part on the robot.
That is also not including the tools that you might need to buy if you don’t have them in your lab.
Like for example the helicoil tools or the Hirose crimping tool.

You can find more information here:
Bill of Materials Core Components
Bill of Materials Quadruped 12dof
Micro Driver Electronics
Master Board

Best Regards,
Felix

1 Like

Hi Felix,

Thanks for the estimate on the Solo-12 and I will keep this in mind going forward.

I really think that this robot could be used as a great base from which to build commodity home robotics and would just have to additionally think about what types of “functionality” a consumer might truly want to see and that a quadrupedal robot could provide.